Connect with others

Carer Stress: Tips for Taking Care of Yourself

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Caring for a loved one strains even the most resilient people. If you’re a carer, take steps to preserve your own health and well-being. Check out this website for some tips on taking care of yourself.
    http://www.dementiatoday.com/caregiver-stress-tips-for-taking-care-of-yourself-2/

t86

This is my first time here. in fact my first time on any sort of forum. I just want to know, does anyone else feel like they are walking on egg shells when caring for a parent that has Vascular Dementia. I feel like as soon as I sense a change in his mood, I feel like my stomach is in knots. sometimes, actually most times now, my dads aggression is too much. I know its not him, that its the disease, but still hurts when your dad can say hurtful things. sometimes I just want to walk out of the house and not return for a long time. make it someone else’s problem. I know that sounds bad.

Forum Admin

Hi t86.

It does seem like your situation is becoming very difficult.

Our Online Dementia Support counselling service can also assist you if you would like to contact us.
    To access it, please select COUNSELLING ONLINE from the menu above and then click on Contact a Counsellor.

debbie